A to Z Bookish Survey!

I’m neglecting this blog. Again! Although I do have a lot of drafts for this blog especially the weekly short story but I can’t find myself clicking the elusive blue “publish” button. For a good reason too! I’m story crafting!

I couldn’t finish the July NaNoWriMo (have you tried writing in fasting month along with the week-long monthly miserable female hormonal situation) and so I had to push every of my creative pore into crafting the current WIP – which developed quite nicely considering its the third incarnation of the short story I wrote for Writer’s Tower and UnR2 is coming in a week and I haven’t begun with my assignment!

It was a lot easier if you go to my Goodreads for newer reviews and and I can always repost it in this blog but I have no time blogging! I end up reading and writing and nanny-ing all day long and all night long (as well as playing Facebook games like a pro) and gosh, I always come back here thinking I need a domain name and etc. A woman can have a limit on her multi-tasking ability.

So, this is a procrastination post, oh yeah!

Questions from this blog post. Fantastic! And its 5.48 AM and I can’t sleep!

mustybooks

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Christine Feehan… 40 of her books. I used to love her as a teenager but again; too many books, too repetetive.

Best Sequel Ever:

Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta

Currently Reading:

Tablet & Pen : A Modern Middle East’s Anthology, Leo Tolstoy’s War and Peace and James Joyce’s Ulysses. Neither of those books was anywhere near finishing.

and I might pick up another book and finish that under a day so I won’t bother listing that here.

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Plain water.

E-reader or Physical Book?

I broke my Kindle and I’m using Samsung Galaxy tab as my current ereader and its just not the same. Its easier to read at night but oh gosh, the glare. But reading physical books doesn’t give me that much satisfaction as it used to. I would be like “I bought a book! *a few hours later * Finished. Meh. Okay, I need to buy more books.” <–  this happened every single time

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Neville Longbottom. Seriously, I gave more chance for guys like him. Or just hangout, because I always get friendzoned anyway.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

The Odyssey by Homer.

Hidden Gem Book:

Anthony Burgess’ The Malayan Trilogy. The delicious Malaysian-related gems you get from this series.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

When I started highschool in 2001 and I went to my mother’s school where she teach and as much as I hated the school, the library was the best library I’ve been in my life that changed everything and made me a legit book addict as I am now.

Just Finished:

Keri Arthur’s Penumbra.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

Bestselling erotica. While I do read erotica from time to time (although less frequency than I did during my undergraduate years), but hyped erotica tend to be all disappointment, tame and do nothing to me.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

Apparently for this year, it was The Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness.  Last year it was Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Styxx. I’ve read more long non-fiction reads for degree so its irrelevant really.

Major book hangover because of:

Ilona Andrew’s Magic Rises… that ending and then Magic Breaks happened but I am more prepared with it. Hmm…

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Depends on what you considered as book case. The PC table I’m using is actually a book shelf. I have another two metal armoire outside the house. One for school stuff we never actually gave out and another for Manga and my books.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

Probably, the Quran. But I’m not sure whether I read it enough to comprehend it all. For a more leisure reads, I hardly reread only one book. Its probably Harry Potter or the most current ones was between Kate Daniels series and Demonica series.

Preferred Place To Read:

On the bed. I like to rest my back while reading.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

“Fear is the mindkiller,” and the whole litany works as a painkiller charm while a surgeon dug a huge needle at the bottom of my molar.

Reading Regret:

Twilight series. I can’t believe how you people dupe me into liking that… for a few months, at least…

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):

Keigo Higashino’s Galileo series. I’ve just finished Devotion of Suspect X (book 3) and Salvation of a Saint (book 5) but I need to read the short stories to feel complete. But although I can read Japanese Manga, my Japanese is fairly novice and I always confuse Kanji with the Chinese meaning so reading the actual Japanese text might be counter-productive. Fortunately, I’ve watched all Galileo adaptations so I know some of the story I haven’t read yet.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

I don’t have all-time favourite books. But if I were to stranded on an island with only three books to read over and over again. Probably Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Acheron and Styxx and Neil Gaiman’s American Gods.

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

A Samad Said. I’ve met him several times even more recently in Kinokuniya and boy, I hyperventilated.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Ilona Andrews.. again. “Magic Breaks” reads like it was on a highway for a deeply satisfying reading journey so I’m rooting for “Burn For Me” next.

Worst Bookish Habit:

I’m bad with my physical books. I always eat as I read. That’s why the back of my Kindle was stained with tumeric and oil.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

Prof Mohd Taib Osman’s Malay Folk Beliefs. It was an anthropological PhD thesis in a paperback and small font. Taking my time to read it fully.

Your latest book purchase:

Higashino Keigo’s Salvation of A Saint. I actually did a vlog review but I’m using my webcam and the audio kinda suck…

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

James Joyce’s Ulysses. Mostly because I listen to the audiobook and it ate away the time with every chapter. And I can’t read the book on its own. Nope.

Leave a Reply

