Charming (Pax Arcana #1) by Elliott James

17333338 ScreenHunter_58 Nov. 14 18.56

I genuinely did like the idea of a family line of supernatural hunters called The Charmings and the story of one John Charming who was an ex-knight of a secret hunter society and was living in secrecy until a Valkyrie found out the truth about him and bribe for his help to hunt a vampire nest. But the story was lesser about Charming but more about trying to kill a future threat in future in a form of a teenage vampiress. But I also read enough Norse legend that I anticipate a romance the moment I read the name “Sieg” and Valkyrie together.
Despite the similarities between Harry Dresden series, I do like John Charming better than Harry Dresden. The writing is fast paced, some was witty while others was repetitive even with info-dumps. However, I didn’t feel that the book work for me. Its too much like Harry Dresden entering Buffy’s Scooby Gang. I guess, because some of the things didn’t work right like the sudden romance angle, triangle love, John being an anti-hero of some sort and there’s some angst throughout the storytelling that made it somewhat a predictable story. I wished I would love Sieg but she’s too much a faux action girl character to me. I am still undecided if I’d pick up the next book but its definitely better than Jim Butcher.
The ARC is provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

