Magic Dreams by Ilona Andrews

Magic Dreams is an urban fantasy novella for the Kate Daniels’ Series which I had gotten into last year. The story is however about Dali and Jim, not Curran and Kate so somehow I can be a bit lost since there have been many novellas in between the novels. The novella was featured in an anthology Hexed which I haven’t read yet, luckily.

Dali Harimau is a Hindu Indonesian white weretiger who is fluent in japanese (or chinese since usually they use kanji) calligraphy and mostly familiar with Japanese yokai. Frankly, mixing cultures in this book is giving me a headache. One thing that bugs me, the story told a great lengthy detail on how she had to hide herself since she’s a rare magical creature that everyone wanted a piece of her literally but ironically her last name is Harimau (Tiger), which is really an off kilter. But its fictious, I’m fine with it.  Jim the feline alpha is the character that is most prominent in Kate Daniels series. In this book, he came to Dali’s house for help and was cursed by something when he investigate their pack’s house.

I had trouble remembering Dali when the author started the novella but some days ago, I had a Legend of Korra marathon and remembered Dali during the pro-bender arena scene and the scene in one of the Kate Daniels’ book. I find it to be neat. There’s an italicised section which Dali talk to her mother in Indonesian about the situation that Jim interrupted them with “Mengapa” that I had a bit fun reading the whole scene in sinetron style – in my head, of course. At some part of the book, guess the authors confused the Asian culture but the slight things doesn’t bother me much. I’m half Javanese and half Bugis Malaysian who are fluent in English and Malay and can read and understand Japanese, so in some way, Dali is a bit like me.

Overall the storyline is well structured, although it was hinted that Dali had more feelings for Jim than either of them let on but the book isn’t a classic paranormal romance. Dali was more prominent in this novella especially with her risking her life over Jim who is slowly dying. There are also some added characters and settings which might be further explained in the future series. Like Andrea and Raphael novella, I don’t think the Dali/Jim pairing will end with this novella. Having this novella re-released does give some time to waste for the next novella, Gunmetal Magic, on August.

One thought on “Magic Dreams by Ilona Andrews

Leave a Reply

