Heart of a Desert Warrior by Lucy Monroe

Sometimes I do wonder if Harlequin was paid to romanticised arab men by arab countries….

I do read Harlequins short novella and stuff. I just don’t read it often but only if I want to take my mind off something. I had a busy and annoying week (which shouldn’t be but is) and so I’m in pretty much state of off-colourness and I had hoped reading this would mind-numbing me against the cheesiness of the world in a state where it shouldn’t be at all.

But it didn’t. The book attempt I mean.

Heart of a Desert Warrior is a nice titled novella with predictable storyline  and annoying main characters. To be quite honest, I had the book just because of the title. I had tried so hard to convince myself that the story had something worth redeeming but its like a carbon copy of the subsequent romance fantasy books that came out post The Sheikh.

The book goes like what the blurb had just said. Except it omitted out the ‘inner conflicts’ within each characters which ultimately frustrated them until the end of the book in which the L-word made everything okay and pretty again. The characters are so static and bland which is never a good sign of a good reading. One of the main reason why I read these novels was that its short and the story is predictable, but then add in vagueness just to prolong the overdue obviousness which the main character took a long time to get it was horrifyingly excruciating.

Another thing about Harlequin romances, does the authors in the entire line with the word Sheikh on their books had the handbook on how to incorrectly portray the correct way to say things? Was the word “Aziz” is generalized as a term of endearment for a guy to a girl? I know a lot of guys name Aziz. Its a man’s name. Usually people say “Ya Aziza(h)” or “Habibi” or something. But calling someone and then end quoting with “aziz” is just plain irritating. I’m not fluent in arabic dialects or in communication but frankly if I read a love scene which ended up being called by a guy’s name, I know I would be pissed. And a girl name was written like this “Your Name Binti Father’s Name”. Bente, or binte or bint which means “daughter of” which Bint is weirdly a foul word in UK… weird ppl. Honestly, for a girl’s name having a “bin” (son of) is particularly facepalm inducing. I dont mind people misrepresenting a group since its happened a lot of times but if this simple factoid continues, it does becomes ignorant people’s facts and it does look like google haven’t been invented and the americans publishers still lived in 19th century where people still romanticising everything despite a double world war happening.

I guess the only Sheikh romance genre (in tackiness, its actually a subgenre under romance books which is hilarious) that I like was Nina Bruhns’s Immortal Sheikh. So I tried reading the entirety of Harlequin sheikh-genre to find such gems and I kept being sarcastic as I go on since the search for a good reading within these short novellas is often fruitless.

As if being bored modern Malaysian Malay in a legal age where she can vote for her country is not depressing enough. The idea of some conservative muslim political party in this country seemed to embrace, emulate and godify the idealism of middle easternism in a way that’s the irony of it that for most part they don’t really care about us as a country. The idea of this is eerie similar with the whole Sheikh loving genre. I actually know a couple of Sheikh and Syed….. its just a name. Most arabs call each other as Sheikh or Sharifah and one thing that I don’t really care about the whole idea concerning about the name is that some mixed-arab family here still have the tendency to seek pure arabs to marry *cough*inbred*cough*. Some of the weird factoid I know was some girls can’t name their kids as Syed or Sharifah unless they’re married to an arab descent while the guy are free to name their kids and do everything and stuff. Paternal hierarchy still irritated me.

One thing I dislike the whole idea of a sheikh meeting with white woman and stuff was that it reminded me of the scene in Homeland in which the rich arab guy want a newer girl toy and she’s got killed later on blargh. Which is counter Sheikh-romance right there.

And so what’s the problem of having Sheika romance book instead of these lame Sheikh novels, thats way more interesting than lame idolising some rich guy.

Okay, I’m being totally cynical for a romance line thats dedicating on these thing. Thats why I just rated it bad and never review some of these books because they make the same thing over and over and never fix stuff. What do you think Malaysians still lived in jungles? well, some do (cool too) but there are readers in the whole wide world that are familiar with certain things like the whole arab culture so why the constant laziness of not asking some people directly via internet.

The book is new too. Its made in 2012 so its not an excuse to skimp on modern convenience.

One thought on “Heart of a Desert Warrior by Lucy Monroe

  1. When I first started reading your review I was thinking “Oh! Maybe there’s hope!” because I know how irritating it is to read these books not really expecting anything, but everyone always hopes for a nice surprise. This reminds me of another book that I read called “One Night in Scotland” and it just completely omitted all back stories and everything was supposed to make sense because, you know, they suddenly fell in love.

Leave a Reply

