Embrace The Dark by Caris Roane

I’m surprised that I need Adobe Digital Editions to read this instead of the kindle option. But its a novella, so… whatever. Weirdly enough its a 45,000 word novella but I actually feel like its a full length novel.

But let’s just say, I swear I never will ever read this again…

This is the exact case when the blurb is actually well written than the actually book which is…

Honestly, I read a bunch of vampire romance books since I was a teenager. I was thoroughly open minded with the whole genre but this is the first time I ever seen a male protagonist to be exactly Vampire Bella Swan and Edward Cullen.

She smell of rosemary? She’s so… deliciousness..

He smell like cardamom?

What the whole smell thing. The only thing that smell description help in reading process was when it create an atmosphere to contribute to the scene. Like putrid or rancidity in street or alleyway scene and etc.

and then it get even weirder. The start of the book is mighty fine but then there’s the whole frequency connection thing in 90% of the book which even I got 6C in Physics kinda irritated at it… and then…

The guy fucking VIBRATES?!?!?!?

(yeah, I had thought that exact word which I shall NOT elaborate)

Conveniently enough the female protagonist have some sort of medical condition that her body produces a lot of blood for her vampire. I was okay, until it goes an on and on about how she’s perfect human for the vampire aka as a blood rose etc.

And the description of lumpiness of her blood and her racing heart rate when she wanted him to suck her blood made me #facepalm even more.

You know how I love hematology despite my obvious hatred for memorizing the exact stages of cellular mutation in cancerous white blood cells?

Miss Roane, theres a proper word for it which is blood clotting. If blood is lumpy, she would have just keel over and die from stroke and blood that can’t get into her microcapillaries of her spine and her brain. What she have was probably hyperhemoglobinemia which might sound nice but actually it might be a sign of cancer or inflammation or drugs which is exactly a bad thing to the normal body function.

I don’t mouth off medical issues in vampire novels but lumpy blood made me super-annoyed for some reason. It made me think of yoghurt and cheese.

Yeah… I had thought I had it bad….and then..

“Oh god….”

“Oh my goodness…”

“Oh my goddess…”

“Oh dear…”

and some of the dialogues and character narration in nearly every pages of the book…

Sigh… okay, I’ll try harder in the most proper way.

Embrace The Dark is a sensual vampire romance novella about a human, Abigail, who wanted to open a bakery in a supernatural realm where everyone loves her cupcakes. Its also a story of a mastyr vampire, Gerrod, who control the entire vampiric population and have castle and have to fight some red wraith stuff and fall in lust with the human whom he absolutely shouldn’t be in lust with because of the whole vampire community disapprove of having relationship with a human despite she bake nice cupcakes. The whole while, he remained absolute gentleman trying to not succumb to the temptation of Abigail with her herbal scent.

The writing style was juvenile and out of context for a PNR novel set in contemporary timeline. It does filled with redundancies in the most inappropriate situation. The plot and characterisation held inconsistencies within its bulk of world building and thus weakened the storyline. The dialogues were awkward and plain uneventful despite being set in an eventful life-threatening situation. There were also overtones of chic lit instead of what should be a more serious storyline. It does get repetitive with all its talk about how thoughtful and romantic the male protagonist is and  apparently the female character were just full of fluff and unmemorable in its MarySueism farfetchedness.

I’m not sure how to respond to the book as it is. If you like to read the normal romance section in a book store, I don’t think it will be much an issue. But I do read a lot of PNR and for most of the time, I find that PNR have better world building, good characterization and better action than average romance novel and men’s science fiction and fantasy. Although generally I have low expectation for romance novels, the book is definitely not up to my reading preference. If you’re seeking for more than just light reading, the book is definitely not for you.

ARC by the courtesy of Spencerhill Associates via NetGalley and the book will be published on 1st of July 2012.

Leave a Reply

